NHSSCA National Coach of the Year

This award is given annually to a High School Strength and Conditioning Coach in recognition of his or her coaching achievements and passion for the profession.

The Process

The National Coach of the Year is selected from among the top coaches across the country and receives the unique, personalized Coach of the Year Belt Award at the National Conference.

– Candidates MUST be nominated by another CURRENT NHSSCA member.

– To nominate a deserving coach, fill out this NHSSCA Coach of the Year Nomination Form.

– Candidates must be nominated by a CURRENT NHSSCA Professional Member.

– Nominations begin October 1, 2021 and ends midnight on October 30, 2021.

– Nominees will have their information sent to the appropriate State Director who will select the top two (2) candidates and submit their name to the NHSSCA Regional Board Member for National Coach of the Year consideration.

– The Regional Board Member will evaluate all submissions and select the top candidate for the National Coach of the Year pool.

– After the National COY has been chosen, the candidates who have not been selected will be returned to the Regional Board Members to determine the Regional and State Coaches of the Year.

ATTENTION: State Directors are not eligible to win the State Coach of the Year Award but can be included in the Regional and National process.

– If you have any questions about the process, please contact garrett.keith@wca-hsv.org.

Congratulations to the 2022 National High School Strength Coach of The Year

John Garrish

John Garrish is the Director of Athletic Development & Performance and Head Track and Field Coach at North Broward Preparatory School in Coconut Creek, Florida. In addition to his role at North Broward, John serves as the Director of Athletic Performance with the Florida Rugby Union’s High-Performance Program 7’s team and as a volunteer coach with Delray Beach Sports’ Exhibitors.

National Coach
of the Year Inductees

John Garrish

Class of 2022

Rob Brokaw

Class of 2021

Eric Cash

Class of 2020

Garrett Keith

Class of 2019

Tobias Jacobi

Class of 2018